What You Should And Shouldn’t Do After A Work Injury
The Georgia workers’ compensation system is full of procedural obstacles and legal pitfalls. At the Law Office of Perry Dean Ellis, P.C., we have seen them all, and we can help you avoid them.
If you have been injured on the job, we can help you maximize and receive the workers’ comp benefits to which you are entitled. Our attorneys represent injured workers and their families in Atlanta and throughout Georgia.
For a free consultation, contact us today at 404-692-7474. We can help with your workers’ compensation claim while you focus on healing.
Things To Do — And Not To Do — After A Workplace Injury
Do report the injury to your employer. You must do this within 30 days of the injury.
Don’t assume that your employer — or the insurance company — will be understanding if you wait longer than 30 days to make a report. Employers and insurers will do what they can to minimize your benefits or deny workers’ comp claims altogether. And waiting to report your work injury is usually very bad for your case.
Do get appropriate medical treatment. In fact, if you are not happy with your workers’ compensation doctor, you are entitled to a one-time change of medical providers on your employer’s list of workers’ compensation doctors. Our work injury lawyers can help you choose a doctor with the necessary skills and experience to treat your specific injury.
Don’t put off medical treatment or downplay your injury. Why? Delaying medical treatment is not only bad for your health; the insurance company will likely claim that your injury isn’t as bad as it is if you avoid getting medical care promptly. Also, if you have not hired a workers’ comp attorney, the insurance company may contact you and request a statement. DO NOT give the insurance company a statement if you do not have an attorney representing you!! Your words will be used against you, likely resulting in fewer benefits or a denied claim. When you hire us, the insurance company can no longer contact you directly, and we will handle all communications with the insurance company to make certain your best interests are protected.
Do file your workers’ comp claim within a year of the injury. In fact, you should file your claim as soon as possible. Once you have filed a WC-14, you do not have to worry about the statute of limitations expiring.
Don’t assume that your employer or the insurance company will file your workers’ comp claim for you. They won’t. It is up to you to file the claim in a timely manner. Let us help you file the claim and handle your case while you worry about getting better.
Do continue pursuing your claim, even if it is denied by the WC insurance company. A denial of benefits is common in the WC system. Insurance companies inherently do NOT like to pay claims. Call us if your claim is denied. And if you have a legitimate work injury, we will request a hearing and pursue your case through the WC court system and eventually get you a very good recovery.
Don’t try to handle your workers’ compensation claim on your own. In far too many cases, people are denied the benefits they are rightfully owed, all because they do not understand the process. This is what we do. Let us guide you through the procedural complexities and red tape — and help get you the medical treatment and income benefits you need and deserve.
Contact Us | Arrange A Free Consultation
We fight hard for injured workers and their families. For a free consultation with a skilled and dedicated attorney, please call 404-692-7474 or send us an email. We help injured workers and their families in the Atlanta metro area and throughout Georgia.
Se habla español